PRODUCTIONS























The Art of Resistance

You can watch all of the film here

French Version | Spanish Version

 

A Documentary by Alexandra Guité
Direction, research and production: Alexandra Guité
Editing : Christopher Hills-Wright.
61 Minutes

Argentina’s troubled history, culminating in the major crisis of 2001, has seen the rise of a wave of original artistic and cultural expression. The documentary The Art of Resistance introduces us to several creators and artist collectives who use artistic expression as a means to deliver powerful social statements, explore unbridled creativity, and participate actively in constructing a new reality.

The Art of Resistance is an inventive treatment of these artists’ responses to the critical situations they are living. Born in a climate of urgency, their creativity is without boundaries, their strategies constantly renewed. The 85-year-old visual artist León Ferrari launches a vigorous national debate by denouncing the Catholic Church’s dark underside, factories open their doors to artists who conceive performances among the workers, patients at a psychiatric asylum join together to form an artistic front and charismatic actor Julio Arrieta makes a movie about the extraterrestrial invasion of his shantytown.

The Art of Resistance is a penetrating portrait of the artistic and political methods of cultural resistance in Argentina. The film follows these inspiring and revolutionary characters as they struggle to meet the challenges of economic and cultural disintegration and critically examine proposed solutions to the problems of the day. It illustrates humanity’s profound capacity for creativity and resilience in the face of adversity. The spectator is invited to witness inspiring examples of this potential as they unfurl against the backdrop of Argentina’s ongoing crisis.

Pre-selected at Cannes’ Semaine de la critique 2006.

Opening film at The Guelph International Film Festival 2006.  Presented at FIPATEL 2007, Biarritz; 3 Americas Film Festival 2007, Québec; Flying Broom International Women’s Film Festival 2007, Turkey; Human Right International Film Festival 2007, Buenos Aires; Festival des Libertés 2007, Bruxelles, National Film Board of Canada Cinéma 2008; Working Class Film Festival 2008, Turkey; Documenta Film Festival, Ecuador.

 

Distribution :

Vidéographe Distribution
6560, avenue de l’Esplanade
Montréal (Québec)
H2V 4L5 Canada
T +1 (514) 866-4720
F +1 (514) 866-4725

info@videographe.qc.ca

Partners :

Société de développement des entreprises culturelles – Québec
Programme d’aide aux jeunes créateurs

Aide au cinéma indépendant (ACIC)

Download :

Poster and Flyer (pdf)

Press Kit (word)

Press Kit (pdf)

Film Credits (pdf)

RÉALISATIONS























 

Les Arts de la Résistance

Pour visionner le film au complet

Version anglaise | Version espagnole

 

Un documentaire d’Alexandra Guité
Réalisation, recherche et production : Alexandra Guité Montage : Christopher Hills-Wright.
Durée : 61 Minutes

L’Argentine est depuis longtemps le théâtre d’expressions artistiques et culturelles originales. Filmé dans la vibrante Buenos Aires, le documentaire Les Arts de la Résistance nous plonge dans l’univers intense de plusieurs créateurs et collectifs d’artistes qui utilisent l’art à la fois comme outil de dénonciation sociale, d’expression délirante, de participation et de construction de nouveaux horizons.

Les Arts de la Résistance traite de manière inventive l’univers artistique de ceux qui inventent et créent dans ce pays bouleversé. Inventant mille et une stratégies, leur créativité née dans l’urgence ne connaît pas de bornes. Un artiste consacré de 85 ans lance une vigoureuse polémique nationale en dénonçant les dessous ténébreux de l’Église catholique, des usines ouvrent leurs portes à des artistes qui y conçoivent des performances parmi les ouvriers, des patients forment un front d’artistes dans un asile psychiatrique et un acteur bouillonnant du bidonville réalise un film sur une invasion d’extraterrestres.

Les Arts de la Résistance trace un portrait pénétrant des modalités artistiques de la résistance culturelle argentine. Inspirant et engagé, ce film illustre comment nos personnages charismatiques font face à la désintégration économique et culturelle tout en scrutant les stratégies de reconstruction mises de l’avant. Il en résulte la confection d’une trame énergétique de résilience et de grande créativité humaine face à l’adversité. Au rythme d’une musique originale composée par le musicien électronique argentin Diego S. Vainer à même l’univers sonore des usines et coloré des quartiers populaires, nous sommes entraînés dans l’ambiance survoltée de l’Argentine où une myriade d’expressions artistiques époustouflantes nous sont dévoilées.

Présélectionné à la Semaine de la critique de Cannes 2006.
Festival International du Film de Guelph 2006; FIPATEL 2007, Biarritz; Festival de cinéma des 3 Amériques 2007, Québec; Flying Broom International Women’s Film Festival 2007, Turquie; Festival International de Cinéma des Droits Humains 2007, Buenos Aires; Festival des Libertés 2007, Belgique; Cinéma de l’Office National du Film, 2008, Montréal; Working Class Film Festival 2008, Turquie et Festival Documenta 2008, Équateur.

Distribution :
Vidéographe Distribution
6560, avenue de l’Esplanade
Montréal (Québec)
H2V 4L5 Canada
T +1 (514) 866-4720
F +1 (514) 866-4725
info@videographe.qc.ca


Partenaires :

Société de développement des entreprises culturelles – Québec
Programme d’aide aux jeunes créateurs

Aide au cinéma indépendant (ACIC)

 

Documents téléchargeables :

Dépliant format pdf

Dossier de presse format word

Dossier de presse format pdf

Generique du film format pdf